Seaside Towns Out of Season Day Twelve: Travels with My Aunt

When I sorted out my original itinerary, way back in the depths of winter, Brighton was my final stop. So yesterday afternoon, as I left the Brighton seafront and set off for Worthing and my aunt’s house, I mentally packed away my cameras and prepared to unwind.  Little did I know what Sandra had planned for me.

IMG_9113
Dave’s 50 Year Old Painting
IMG_9115
Sandra’s House

As an artist, herself, my aunt is involved in several local creative groups. It just so happened that the monthly Artists’ Breakfast was to take place the following day, so we were up and out this morning as the seagulls screeched and whirled above us.

IMG_9116

Held in a local cafe, the Artists’ Breakfast consisted of a diverse group of interesting lively, colourful individuals.  I immediately felt at home.  For a couple of hours we drunk coffee and swapped stories, business cards and websites.  When we left I felt I’d made several new friends, and having distributed the road trip postcards for them to return meant I would hopefully hear from them again.

The sun was shining and the cold wind had dropped. It was the perfect Spring day to stroll by the sea and walk the length of the pier, and no visit would be complete without a picture or two. The cameras had been taken out of hibernation and were once more slung around my neck. I was ready for action.

IMG_9139IMG_9137IMG_9118IMG_9117IMG_9140

With only an hour or so before I planned to leave we wandered into the tiny shops, tucked in the arches. They were like Aladdin’s caves, crammed full of handmade goods.  We chatted with one owner who made the most fantastic light fittings, then moved next door to a lovely man who sewed scarves and hats and all manner of fabulous outfits out of recycled materials.  He told us he’d been making clothes since he was seven. I left them both with postcards, and we headed back for lunch.

IMG_9142
Light Art by Jessica Gill
IMG_9143
Light Art by Jessica Gill
IMG_9151
Sandra’s New Scarf
IMG_9152
The Vintage Emporium

As I packed up the car and hugged Sandra I thought how lovely it was that I’d been able to make this trip, and spend some time with a fabulous aunt I’d not seen for a few years.  We’d chatted and laughed and cried and hugged and agreed we’d had the most fantastic few hours.

I started the car and thought about a conversation I’d had with Sandra fifty years ago.  Undecided about teacher training or art college I’d asked her advice.  She’d been to Leicester College of Art a few years previously.

‘Go there,’ she advised, you’ll love it.’

I went, I loved it – and I met the future husband.  The rest, as they say, is history.

Seaside Towns Out of Season Day Twelve: Travels with My Aunt

4 thoughts on “Seaside Towns Out of Season Day Twelve: Travels with My Aunt

  1. Sandra/Sasha Coe says:

    How lovely to have my brilliant, funny, caring niece come to light up my day. It was so good to see you. I’d forgotten about my contribution to your future! That’ll learn you for listening to random aunts….. xxxxxx

    Like

Leave a Reply

