On the Bus

In response to The Daily Post’s weekly photo challenge: “Vivid.”

I’ve always loved bright colours, and have the clothes and the decor to prove it.

When I saw that this week’s photo challenge was ‘vivid’ I thought it would be easy to find an image that fitted the title.  I was wrong.  Much of my work is black and white street photography, and the rest is landscape or family, all of which can be striking but not necessarily vivid.

However, this image was tucked away in an old street album, and I knew it was the one to choose.  I remember that day.  It was cold but sunny, and as I got on the bus, I was struck by the bright seat colours.  In contrast, a couple sitting with their backs to me, looked quite subdued and dull, the only light being from the sun that shone through the window, alternating with the shadows on their heads.

The vivid seat was the real star of this image.

DSC03788
Bright Seat, Shadowed Heads
Image

5 thoughts on “On the Bus

Leave a comment